Chicago’s passenger rail system includes Metra commuter trains and CTA city trains (also called the “L”). Explore the different rail lines below to get schedule information and view popular destinations.

CTA Lines

Metra Lines

  • BNSF
  • Electric District
  • Milwaukee District North
  • Milwaukee District West
  • Union Pacific North
  • Union Pacific Northwest
  • Union Pacific West
  • North Central Service
  • SouthWest Service
  • Heritage Corridor
  • Rock Island District


South Shore Line

More Information

Metra Map
How to Ride CTA Trains
How to Ride Metra Trains